Back in the saddle

Once upon a time, I was a Director of Administrative Services at a large sports facility. When I was 8 months pregnant the facility closed and I was transferred to the city that owned the facility. I received an $8,500 pay cut and was given a really crappy less challenging job. I went from the second in command at a major sports facility to a pencil pushing, bored, pee-on. With the Michigan economy in the dumps, I was very happy to still have a job.

I worked for a month and then had my baby. I was on Maternity Leave for three months. Realistically, it was a good time for a transition. I had my first and only child and I could concentrate on getting used to Motherhood without the work stress I was used to.

That was almost two years ago…

A few months ago, I started assisting another department trying to get caught up. That department had lost a couple employees to lay-offs and since it is a vital department, the dwindling employee count really had an effect on the department’s efficiency level. At that point I was still performing my pencil pushing, boring, pee-on job and spending a significant amount of time in this other area, helping where I could.

Last week I was promoted to oversee the department I was helping out. The current department head took another position elsewhere in the city. In my new job I am responsible for a very important function of city operations and I over see three employees. My first week was filled with 10 hour days and no lunches, and strangely, I’m happy and thriving.

There is some adjustment for me and my family. My amazing husband has been helping out with Hunter duties, including transportation. We really have been using the teamwork approach to get everyone out of the house by 7:30. I have horrible guilt for the added time Hunter is in daycare. And my brain is just getting used to functioning again. But at the end of the day I feel fulfilled again. I have a great sense of accomplishment.

Don’t get me wrong, I love being a parent and raising my son is very gratifying. However, I’m not stay-at-home-Mom material. I’m much better suited to supervise adults that act like kids, than to supervise kids that act like adults.

I don’t expect the ten-hour, lunch-less days to continue. But until I can get things cleaned out and organized the way I will be comfortable with, we may have to tolerate them for a few more weeks.

~*~*~*~*~*~

Questions answered:

Orange sweeter-vest, purchased at Target a month or so ago. Hunter looks so cute in orange, we had to have it.

Elmo-bunny Easter basket – also purchased at Target. Are you seeing a trend here? LOL You can pretty much count on Target or Meijers as my major purchase points.

Rhonda, egg dye comes off, but mostly all Hunter was able to do was put stickers on dry colored eggs. Also, Mr. Clean Eraser takes crayon off everything.

8 Comments »

  1. Jenn Said:

    Oh my god. I’m so happy for you! And I totally understood everything you were saying there about work and challenges (using your BRAIN!) and that home is wonderful, but sometimes the “being out of home” makes “coming home” so much better. Plus I think it is good for kids to see that their parents are people, not just parents. Especially moms.

    Congratulations!

  2. Annika Said:

    Hooray for you! I am the absolute opposite — I’d rather be home than anything — but I am so totally into people doing what makes them happiest and most fulfilled, and I’m SO thrilled that your new position gives you that!

  3. Lolly Said:

    Congratulations!!

  4. Stepherz Said:

    This news makes my heart smile, Sheryl! I know how much it must mean to you to get promoted into a position that gives you something back. Congrats, my friend. You deserve it!

  5. Deana Said:

    I had no idea Nature Boy was being inducted or I would’ve called my bff over to watch! She has made me watch wrestling with her since I was about 16 and had a crush on Rock and Roll Express….then Sting in my later years! WOOOOOoo is right, I love that Woooooo and all fans know that call!

  6. nikki Said:

    Congrats on the promotion! Yay for Target!!

  7. Rhonda Said:

    CONGRATS on the new job!

    And thanks for the tip on Mr. CE…I will get a few 100 tomorrow (at Target…my most favorite place in the world, after Starbuck’s of course.). 🙂

  8. Kayte Said:

    Congratulations!! I know since I’ve started reading here that the job arena has not been your happiest. I’m glad you’ve been able t to find something rewarding for you, especially with all the hard times Michigan is seeing right now. Seriously, congratulations!!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

