Basking

basking in the sun

Someone told me I looked rested today. Hell, I should, I was on vacation from Dec. 22 until yesterday. But really, I don’t think it’s all from being away from work. I seem to have a real sense of peace for this upcoming year. I believe this sense of peace corresponds with my personal year (if you believe in numerology).

Here’s a way to calculate your own, if you are so inclined.

Let me tell you how this sense of peace revealed itself to me. I told you in my happy dance post that I had a job interview coming up. Well before that can be determined, the potential employer sent me a questionnaire. The questionnaire had questions on it like I have responded to before in oral board interviews. I spent two days preparing my responses, researching numbers (for “annual budget for your current organization” question) and proofreading over and over again. The questionnaire had to be returned by 9:00 AM January 2nd (Wednesday morning). I finally finished the questionnaire Tuesday evening around 5ish – just about the same time my high-speed Internet connection decided to take a dump.

I attempted to call my ISP to inquire about my technical difficulties and see if they could get me up and running again. The first time I was on hold (using my home phone) for 40 minutes until I simultaneously called on my cell and got thru to someone. So I disconnected the line on my home phone and was then on hold for 25 minutes before I just hung up my cell phone.

Seriously, at this point I could have chucked the whole computer out the window… router and all. But this calm voice inside my head said “you can’t get mad at the ISP, it won’t accomplish anything. You have to come up with a backup plan to get this email where it needs to be by 9:00 AM – or this could cost you a ticket out of your current job.”

I have no idea where this rational voice came from, but it was right. And that’s what I did. Now, we had 12+ inches of snow fall on Tuesday, so I had to plan carefully and give myself PLENTY of time to get to work and send the email (sending it from work was the best plan I could come up with). I was nervous about getting stuck somewhere between home and work, but I stuck to the plan. I didn’t sleep very well, but that’s no big surprise.

As I was getting ready to leave home Wednesday morning, I noticed the lights on the modem were blinking. I turned the computer on and woo-who the Internet was working again. So I uploaded my (6 page) questionnaire response and emailed it. Then I took my sweet ole time getting Hunter to daycare and me to work.

I really wasn’t surprised. Like I said, I just have this calm sense of peace. It is an amazing feeling.

~*~*~*~

I hope to start taking pics for my 365 day project again, maybe I’ll start today. I’m also going to be picking up my camera more. I was on vacation for the past two weeks and I spent the time enjoying the company of my husband and my son. I wasn’t stressed about he holidays or worried about posting (obviously) or picture taking. While I did take some pictures, they were more snap-shots. I haven’t even been taking my camera with me until today. It’s a shame too, 12 inches of snow look amazing during the sunrise. I’ll upload some snap-shots and pics soon.

Can’t you just feel the peace?

7 Comments »

  1. daisies Said:

    happy new year 🙂

    i love that feeling, so wonderful that it has found you … hope your 2008 is filled with peace and laughter and love and tons of creative energy!

  2. nikki Said:

    I was on a lovely vacation from work too! We should have met up for drinks!

  3. Jenn Said:

    Good job on not fire-bombing your computer. I LOVE how computers/isps can tell when something is due.

  4. Helen Said:

    I love that photo – very peaceful!

    (and for another challenge, see my Blog for the 366 photo challenge – created by some teenage girls I found through NaNoWriMo, but I made my own list).

  5. Stepherz Said:

    I’m with Daisies! I’m so happy for you and wish you the best this year. This is my personal year too! I liked reading what that site had to say…

  6. Kayte Said:

    What a wonderful way to start the new year. Good luck with the upcoming job interview!

    I love the picture in this post – the background is a perfect blurred blend of watercolor-like colors, and the sunlight is kissing the branch just so. That picture gives me a sense of peace 🙂

  7. […] This kind of work environment is bad for the soul. And it’s reeking havoc on my new found sense of peace. […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

