Vicks Urban Legend

As you may or may not know, Hunter has been sick for over ten days. I’ve taken him to the doctor twice; the second time was this morning. He is still coughing and yesterday he was actually losing his voice. The doctor has told me it’s just a cold and there is nothing that can be done. Just keep the cool-mist humidifier in his room, which we have been doing for weeks.

I was concerned about it settling in his chest, which is why I took him back to the doc today.

The poor guy has been coughing and coughing and coughing and coughing. I feel so bad for him. So last night, out of desperation, I tried something I received an email about.

Vicks on your feet to relieve coughing and I’ll be damned if it didn’t work.

I slathered up the bottom of Hunter’s feet with Vick’s VapoRub and we put him in his footy pj’s. Off to sleep he went… and stayed. In fact I had to wake him up this morning at 8:00AM. His breathing was much less labored. He didn’t have one single coughing jag last night… not one!

I’m convinced enough to have done it again tonight. If it works again tonight, I will be officially in love!

3 Comments »

  1. nikki Said:

    Do you think it will work on adults too?!?!

    I hope he feels better soon. Sick kids suck sweaty donkey balls.

  2. Doing it tonight. Will report in the a.m.

  3. Marie Said:

    I’m not sure it’s an urban legend any more…The People’s Pharmacy has talked about this as an effective cough suppressant for years! I’m glad the stuff worked for you all. We do know that uneasy feeling of gunk settling into the chest–ugh–and it’s great to nip that in the bud.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

