Mad Skillz… or maybe just bit testy

This morning Tyler started barking like crazy thru the front blinds (they weren’t even open yet). Normally you can just ignore Tyler, because he’s probably just barking at the squirrels in the front yard that are teasing him. But this bark was a bit more insistent. So I went to look. There was a doe crossing the front yard.

I grabbed my camera and my big lens and by the time I came back, she was gone. So I gave Hunter a graham cracker (he was in his highchair waiting for oatmeal) and went out the kitchen sliding door, onto the deck to see if I could catch a glimpse of her cutting thru the trees. I saw her, and got a few shots fired off.

Then over in front I heard leaves crunching again. Following the doe was a 7-point buck. He was on the hunt; he didn’t give a rat-shit about me standing there. I don’t think he even saw me. I got several shots of him fired off before I realized, my shots were overexposed. Damn! But the worst of it wasn’t the over exposure. No, my white balance was set to Tungsten (or inside lighting).

Shit! Here’s what I took:
ruined?
Shit, shit, shit!!

First time I’ve seen any deer at home all year and I screw up the shot.

So when I got to work, I tried to play with them a bit, but I thought they were beyond repair.

Nope, after a bit of reading, look what I did:
Better

Maybe Ms. Meghan is rubbing off on me.

5 Comments »

  1. daisies Said:

    how freaking cool is that!! you are my hero! : )

  2. Meghan Said:

    Sheryl… damn. That is an excellent fix.

    Awesome capture, too.

  3. Rhonda Said:

    That’s awesome! Did you fix it in Photoshop?

  4. Jenn Said:

    Hee, when you said there was a doe, I glanced at the photo and was like “okay, one of us is somehow misinformed on the difference between boy deer and girl deer.. and it might be me…”

    But then I read on. And was relieved for both of us.

    Good save on the pic!

  5. […] of the camera. Saying it’s crappy would be polite. The second one is one I was quite proud of yesterday. The third pic is one I fixed using Scott’s 7-point system. I think it looks MUCH better. […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

