Draggin’ out my soapbox


I’m home today. Hunter was up for quite a while last night coughing. He doesn’t have a fever, but he is congested and his nose is kinda runny. He’s at that age where he HATES to have his nose wiped. He’d rather have that crap sit on his upper lip until the end of time, as opposed to have someone wipe it with a tissue.

I figured it was better to keep him home from daycare today. One, I don’t want him to get any sicker and two, if he’s coughing – everyone could get sick – if he is sick, that is.

He’s not acting sick, his energy level is normal, which I guess is good. It could just be the drastic change in weather that is causing his nasally distress.

The weather is windy, cold and drizzly – yuck. You know the kind where you would rather stay under the covers all day – unless of course you are almost 17 months old.

So I decided to keep him home today and I called in sick at work.

~*~

Ok, so it’s 1:30 in the morning and Kev and I are both up because Hunter has been coughing for a while. I give Hunter a drink of water and bring him over to the rocking chair to try and get him back to sleep and Kev is setting up the humidifier. After the humidifier is done, he goes and gets the ‘Lil Colds Decongestant Plus Cough” for stuffy noses and coughing (duh). It’s a bottle from last year – when we used it without incident.

Now before you go on some tangent about me using a recalled product, do me a favor: just stop yourself.

Welcome to one of my GIGANTIC pet peeves.

According to this site:

On October 18-19, two advisory committees of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) gathered in Maryland to discuss the safety and efficacy of OTC cough and cold medicines for children. The panels, in a majority vote of 13-nine, voted to recommend to FDA that cough and cold active ingredients should no longer be available for use in children under six-years-old.

Harm from OTC cough and cold medicines is very rare and, when it does occur, is almost always the result of misuse (significant overdose or accidental swallowing due to medicine not being properly stored and secured).
• As with all medicines, dosing instructions for all over-the-counter remedies must be read and followed carefully. It is important to remember that any medicine can cause harm if taken or used improperly.
• If a parent or other caregiver has any questions about a child’s healthcare, they should contact a healthcare professional for assistance.
• Safe use and safekeeping are extremely important. Giving medicine according to label directions is part of the solution; storing it out of the sight and reach of children is part of it, as well. More tips are available online.
The makers of over-the-counter cough and cold medicines want to ensure that parents and caregivers understand when and how to use these medicines safely.

Hey, I know, instead of recommending on your package that I “Consult Physician” for recommended dosage for kids under the age of two… at 1-fucking-30 in the morning when my child is in need of some relief, why don’t you just put. the. dosage. on. the. fucking. label.

It’s an over the counter drug. If you don’t trust me to dose correctly want me to “consult my physician” why don’t you make it a prescription drug?

So at 1-fucking-30 in the morning my husband looks at me and says:
“how much should I give him?”

“What does that label say?” I ask, guessing I already knew the answer.

“Under 2, Consult Physician” apparently, at 1-fucking-30 in the morning, I look like a physician.

“How much does it say for a two year old?”

“1 ml”

“Give him half that.”

Yep, it was a judgment call, but as parents don’t we do that all the time?

So now, since big rich drug companies won’t change the labeling, the FDA has recommended that my son suffer through Michigan cold and flu seasons for the NEXT 4 ½ years, until he turns “six years old”, before I can give him something to help alleviate his stuffy nose and coughing.

Nice.

Fuckers.

This post is brought to you by the number 8 billion and the color of money and snot green.

6 Comments »

  1. Gina Said:

    The whole medicine thing is frutstrating. Mr. P was sick all last week and was miserable.

  2. Lolly Said:

    Oh please. The medicine is fine. I gave my kid cough medicine when he was little, and he’s still alive.

    The problem with the medicine is that some stupid people can’t read or follow directions. And then they blame the medicine.

    I hope poor Hunter is feeling better real soon.

    *hugs*

  3. Stepherz Said:

    I’m so with you on this! I not only want to relieve their symptoms (because I do for me) but I’d also like to know what dose to give them written on the bottle. They do that so that they don’t get the lawsuits– the doctors do. I guess?

    I hope Bug is feeling better. You’re an awesome mommy, Sheryl!

  4. Meghan Said:

    I could have written this post.

    Fuckers, indeed.

    Poor Bug. I hope his snurffles clear up very soon.

  5. Jenn Said:

    I’ll do the same thing.

    And then add a swig for mommy so she’ll sleep well too.

    *nods*

  6. ~Sheryl Said:

    Gina – yes, frustrating to say the least.

    Lolly – I agree stupid indeed.

    Steph – thanks, I don’t always feel like an awesome Mom.

    Meg – Just have to get that soapbox out now and again.

    Jenn – Mommy gets a swig of something else. 😉


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

