The wife in me

I only take my wedding ring off for two things: (man, you guys are perverts!) getting it cleaned and doing something with my hands that might trash it (like coloring my hair). Yesterday I took my wedding ring off to color my hair. I always put it in the same place so there is no fear of losing it.

But there is the potential of forgetting to put it back on. That’s what I did yesterday; I forgot to put it back on. I bet I noticed that I wasn’t wearing it 10 times today.

So this was the inspiration for my self portrait today.
Day 5 - the wife in me.

~*~*~

It wasn’t rough adapting to daylight savings time – not really. But I don’t like driving home in the dark. Normally I try to have a conversation with Hunter on the way home. Mostly it’s just me talking, but sometimes he chimes in. I don’t know what the heck he’s saying, but it’s a nice way to encourage conversation and I hope to continue the tradition for a long time to come. But with the change in time, it’s dark and harder to have a conversation with the little man in the back seat.

Come on winter solstice.

Well, that’s it for today. I’m off to get some sleep. My husband is still working 14 hour days and it’s a rough way for both of us to start the week. Anyone else feeling the connection here (or is it irony)?

~*~*~
11/6/07
I’ve edited the timestamp on this post. I posted (or at least I thought I did) it last night. Now usually I double check that my post is showing, I must not have done that. Shoot, I guess I’m out of the running for a prize, but I guess that’s okay. It’s the thought that counts and since I THOUGHT I posted, it’s all good.

3 Comments »

  1. Kayte Said:

    Love the self portrait!

    It’s funny, my parents never wore their wedding rings (they’re 30 years in and still in love) and a nonchalant attitude towards rings was passed down to me. I never realized that some people consider them so important until later in my life.

    I don’t like driving home in the dark either 😦 I heard you guys are starting to get some blustry weather in Michigan. Hope you and yours are staying toasty and comfy inside 🙂

  2. Those are gorgeous rings. My husband lost his before our first wedding anniversary, and I went completely POSTAL on his ass. Wait, am I allowed to say ass here? Hehe. Feel free to delete if I’m being inappropriate. Which I often am. Anyway, he got it replaced and pronto. Still pisses me off when I think about it. This comment is so irrelevant it is physically hurting me. Hahaha. Sorry! I really do love your rings though.

  3. ~Sheryl Said:

    Kayte, I think my ring is more symbolic and a remembrance of my husband when he and I aren’t together. It is the only piece of jewelry that doesn’t come off. It’s funny, before we got engaged, I couldn’t imagine ever sleeping jewelry of any kind and now I can’t imagine being without it.

    Lisa, thanks for the compliment. Asking if it’s okay to ass around here shows your newbie-ness. Lol You can say whatever you want here.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

