This is why it’s called “crap-o-rama”


Saturdays usually end up cleaning days. It seems the only time I really have to get a full house vacuum on. I like to chill on Sundays, but Sunday’s often end up being laundry day. Depending, of course, how much caffeine (if any) I have on Saturday… sometimes I can fit laundry in then. Hubby works every other Saturday, so Saturdays work for fitting in the housework.

I remember as a child, Saturdays were always cleaning day. I hated it then, but of course I was a kid and didn’t understand why we had to clean. I didn’t get why I couldn’t watch cartoons instead. After all, Saturday was the only day they were on. That was back when you could count the number of channels on two hands. There was no such thing as “Cartoon Network”.

Who am I kidding, I hate it now too. But it has to be done. Sometimes I wish I was one of those neat freaks, but alas, I am not.

Inspired by my cleaning buddy, here is my entry for today’s 365 days over on flickr.

Day 3 - My cleaning buddy.

I guess part of the reason I don’t have time to be a neat freak is I am too busy being a computer geek, trying to become a photographer, wishing I was a jewelry maker, poop cleaner-upper and chief cook and bottle washer (well I don’t wash bottles anymore, now it’s sippy cups).

I made some time today to play with my new 40D . I’m really very happy, I really seem to be getting used to it quite nicely. I also had some time to play in Photoshop. I really want to make sure I can get things right in the camera, but if I can’t it’s nice to know I have a few skillz in PS to help me out.

Below, a photo that I should credit my buddy Meghan. She is an amazing photographer and she has some MAD Photoshop Skillz! She has mentioned intentionally under exposing and then fixing to get a non-blurry shot. Here’s my take:
What? You said I could eat on the couch.
“What? You said I could eat on the couch.”

I hope to have some more interesting posts for you at some point this month… I’m just warming up… yea, that’s it.

Hey are you guys checking out all the cool blogs partaking in nAbLOpOmO? There is some funny funny shit out there. And I don’t even have to mention the amazing photographers. I’m so disappointed that I can’t access the Ning site from work (you know, at lunch time – πŸ˜‰ ) So I’m OD’ing this weekend.

11 Comments »

  1. Meghan Said:

    Ahahahaha… it looks like your vacuum is posing. Great shot.

    Also, I love that pic of Hunter. Excellent work. The one thing I would do is make it a wee bit more contrasty… but that’s just me. I would try a defog (in unsharp mask, 10% with a radius of 30).

  2. tiff Said:

    I don’t know much about cameras, thats the sad part about my love affair with my D40. I just fiddle with the camera, and I don’t have photoshop to clean it up!

  3. Hi,
    I’m glad you visited moi.
    I cleaned the carpet today and mode the yard.
    Enjoy your new camera!

  4. oops. forgot to ask if you have any boomers in your blogroll… would you drop me a note?
    goinglikesixty AT the big company that begins with G mail

  5. Noreen Said:

    Saturdays should be my designated cleaning day, but it’s not. I was attempting to put away some clean clothes when NaBloPoMo distracted me from that.

    I’m not a photographer, but I’ve been messing around with Photoshop for the past 6 years or so, just teaching myself things.

    I think that picture looks great, by the way.

  6. Lisa Said:

    well gosh, I put my comment under the wrong post. Oops!

    Still, it was another excuse to check out the Dyson πŸ˜‰

  7. Looks like you’re putting the 40D to good use! πŸ˜€

  8. I’m adding you to my blogroll, btw. For a minute I panicked because I couldn’t remember your url, so I had to dig through an old post to find your comment. Heh.

  9. ~Sheryl Said:

    Meg – My Dyson WAS posing! I thought that photo needed to be a bit more contrasty too, but I was really struggling trying to find an adjustment that accomplished that to my satisfaction. I gave up. Later I tried the defog you suggested, it looks much better. Thanks for the tip – again. Where did you pick all this stuff up??? Keep those tips coming.

    Tiff – I think your photos look great.

    G.L.S. – thanks for stopping by. Hey, why don’t you check out Radioactive Jam (there’s a link in my blogroll.)

    Noreen – I too, am so distracted by nAbLOpOmO lately. Hey maybe you and Tiff should hook up: she does the camera, you do the PS. Thanks for the compliment.

    Lisa- you can comment anywhere your little heart desires. πŸ™‚

    The Lisa Show- thanks, I’m trying with that 40D. And thanks for the add. I’m really enjoying your site as well. I love that Beyond Megapixals blog you started. Finding your site was like a two for one.

  10. Kayte Said:

    haha yeah I LOVE the photo of you with the vacuum cleaner – you guys really do look like buddies πŸ™‚

    Trust me, being a neat freak isn’t such a great thing either. You end up disliking every person you ever share a house with because nobody can ever be as clean as you, you end up picking up after everyone else (well, maybe as mom you already do that) AND you cannot EVER relax in a room that’s not clean because if something is awry you compulsively fix and tidy and clean until it’s all PERFECT…then, and only then, can you relax. There’s two sides to every coin, no? πŸ™‚

  11. daisies Said:

    i wish i were a neat freak too!! our cleaning day is saturday too only this saturday i was too busy and now i am living in a mess … you look super cute on cleaning day πŸ™‚


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

