Apple of my eye


I have always loved Granny Smith apples. In fact we have a tree in our backyard. But my quest to make sure Hunter enjoys all kinds of fruit has required me to expand my apple choices. Granny Smith’s are way too tart for him, and while it would be humorous to watch his dimpled little face pucker with sourness; I’m not mean like that. Besides the idea is to get him to like fruit, not be afraid of it.

One of the many reasons I love a Granny Smith is because it’s tart and crispy. I don’t like mushy fruit, not at all… not even a little.

So last week at the grocery store I was flipping through the fruit guide (every store should have one) looking at the apples. Specifically looking for apples that were on the crispy side, but sweet.

I grabbed my usual couple of Granny Smiths and a couple of different varieties for Hunter. One was a Honey Crisp. Yes, they have their own website!

When I tried it, it was like heaven. Holy moley it was yummy!!! Honey Crisp apples are my new favorite. Too bad they are only available for a small period of time. They even have their own blog. Yea, Hunter loves ’em too.

Speaking of Hunter and the apple of my eyeโ€ฆ
Mr. Explorer
Explorer man. He is facinated by leaves. He actually picked that one off my Twisted Lavender.

Camera struggles:
Sharp grass
Obviously we have some operator error going on here. The grass is sharp as can be, but the main focus (no pun intended) is out of focus! I focused on Hunter’s eyes, left my finger on the shutter button (duh) and recomposed so he wasn’t in the middle and tada…. crappy picture. wtf. Checked my camera today, the IS was off and I changed my metering mode. Let’s see if that helps.

~*~*~
Thank you all for the very kind comments you left yesterday. I’m sure this self-protrait thing will get easier. But for now, I find it very difficult to take decent pics of myself. Photogenic is not a word I would use to describe myself. But I guess a lot of people are that way. The funny thing is, years later, they seem easier to look at. Maybe my vision is going. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Hey Meg, talk to me some more about sharpening for the web – my shots always look too sharp on my blog. (Blatant cry for help, here.)

Self-portrait, day 2 (363 to go).
Day 2 - at work.

15 Comments »

  1. Lisa Said:

    Which lenses did you get with the 40D? ๐Ÿ™‚
    P.S. I’m glad you found me on NaBlowhatsit.

  2. tiff Said:

    I adore Honey Crisp! They have a short season in Michigan, get ’em while they are hot!

    You got a Nikon D40? Me too, but it’s so addicting. I want to get the 50-200mm lens for real close up shots, I’ve got some saving up to do.

  3. Gina Said:

    You’re doing great! And Mr. P loves apples, I’ll have to look into these!

  4. Stepherz Said:

    I love your photos and am so happy you are including some of you. You look fantastic, byt the way. You obviously have lost more weight. Hott Momma!

  5. Annika Said:

    You are looking super-skinny there, Missy.

  6. boguedamour Said:

    Honey Crisps are the best. Too bad they are like $2.50 a pound in Chicago. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. Jenn Said:

    I love Gala Apples. I just looked them up on Wiki and see they are considered soft… so you probably won’t like them. But they are SO YUMMY! I can eat one a day no problem. Which, right now, is a godsend.

  8. Lolly Said:

    The pick-your-own farm we go to has honey crisps. They are SO good!

  9. Bryce Said:

    Mmmmm… Now you’ve made me hungry for apples. I think we should make an apple pie today as a family project. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. ~Sheryl Said:

    Hey Lisa, I just ordered the body. I already had a Canon 24-105 and a 70-200. I think I’m set on lenses for now. Even tho’ I would love a macro – don’t tell my husband. hehe

    Tiff, I have a Canon 40D not a Nikon D40. I don’t know why Canon choose a name so close to the Nikon. But regardless of camera type, it IS addicting (and expensive).

    Gina – better look fast, I understand the season is almost over. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Steph, Annika – you are so kind, thank you. I’m down 35 lbs since April. (yay!)

    Herb, don’t tell anyone, but I was jonesing for them so bad yesterday I paid $2.99 a pound. :O I’m sure they weren’t that expensive at Meijer’s last week.

    Jenn – I really should expand MY fruit repertoire as well. I’ll try one. When I was preggo I ate tons of fruit, I’m glad you found something you can eat with out too much of an issue.

    Lolly – a pick your own would be cool. I will have to keep my eye out now that I know about them.

    Bryce – thanks for stopping by. If you make the pie, it’s only right that I should get a piece as I inspired it.

  11. Meghan Said:

    Eeep! Sorry I’m late on this one. First of all, you look great! I’m LOVING the self-portraits every day. You inspired me, in fact. Well, not for every day, but for today!

    About the sharpening for web, it really depends on the picture. Wherever the focus falls, that area will be sharpened the most. Also, I would resize photos yourself instead of having your page auto resize it from flickr (that always makes unsharp mask look wonky). I usually go with 300/.2 for people. Well, for most photos. 300/.3 if I want it really sharp.

  12. Bryce Said:

    Just tell me where to Fed Ex your slice to. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Lisa Said:

    Your photos are very good!

    I especially LOVE that the Dyson is in the self portrait.

  14. ~Sheryl Said:

    Meg, thanks, as always. I love getting tips from you, oh wise one.

    Bryce – PIE!! Yay. Did you get my addy? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Lisa – thanks you so much. I love my Dyson too!

  15. Kayte Said:

    Granny Smiths are the best for pies and caramel apples – tart + sweet = delicious. I miss living in Michigan where apples are so ingrained into the local culture. Apple cider, apple pies, bobbing for apples, caramel apples, dried apple slices. More apples than you could eat in a lifetime! In California, they’re just another commodity that you can buy in the store. In Michigan…apples are an EXPERIENCE!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

