Very Important Information

Important information you need to know about infants’ and children’s cough and cold medicines.

Tylenol has recalled all sorts of products this week. Apparently there is some confusion about dosages between their regular formula and their concentrated formulas.

I have two questions:

Why would you concentrate an infant formula?

Why don’t you just put the damn dosage recommendations on the fucking box?

The second one really frosts my cookie. As a first time Mom, I’m already panicky enough when my child gets sick. Ok, so you tell me to consult my doctor, which I do (luckily I am one of the fortunate people in America that has a decent Health Care Plan). My OLD pediatrician used to rattle of amounts when I asked her about dosages. How in the hell am I supposed to remember what she said without writing it down? And if I am lucky enough to remember (or write down) the numbers, how come they don’t coincide with the numbers on the dropper? Did she say ml’s or oz’s? Gee, I wonder how people get confused?

My new pediatrician has given me a Tylenol sponsored chart with dosage info on it. It hangs in the bathroom, inside the cabinet door. I always know where it is and it’s easy enough for someone who may be watching my son to find it.

It looks similar to this:
chart

You can find this chart here

Wouldn’t this solve the problem? Or am I just being ridiculous?

~*~*~*~*~
Don’t worry, my 12 of 12 is in progress. Check back later today or early tomorrow.

4 Comments »

  1. nikki Said:

    I just never gave Aaron any cough medicine. You CANNOT give any child (or adult for that matter) who has asthma any type of medicine that suppresses cough. Unless you like to watch your child turn blue and be rushed to the ER.

    Thanks for the chart. It’s handy to have.

  2. ~Sheryl Said:

    That’s another thing, Nikki, the issue is with the COUGH AND COLD meds, not the PAIN AND FEVER REDUCER. Nothing that I saw or heard yesterday made that distinction very clear. They made it sould like you should throw out ALL of your Tylenol medication for children under 2.

    In my opinion, this is WAY too important to be vague about.

    I didn’t know that about children with asthma, thanks for adding such important info.

    You rock!

  3. Joy T. Said:

    I am so glad my children are older. I don’t ever remember giving them Tylenol for colds but if I had to I would have been a wreck hearing this. I’m just waiting for them to come out with something now about the Tylenol pain and fever medication. Which I DID use with my children. Then I can beat myself up about something else. Because us mothers don’t beat ourselves up enough as it is.

  4. […] Welcome to one of my GIGANTIC pet peeves. […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

