Money – the root of all evil

Rant Warning!

I’ve really been struggling lately.

When my Dad died in January I had no idea that he would have insurance policies. So when my brother called me and told me there was a policy naming my brother and I as beneficiaries – it was kind of a pleasant surprise. My father had two other children with his second wife, so my brother and I have a half-brother and a half-sister. My brother and I decided that the right thing to do was to split the money four ways, so that each of my Dad’s children would get something from him. I still stand by the fact that it was the right thing to do.

In the meantime, my Dad’s second wife had asked me to make some additional phone calls regarding my Dad’s pension check. Dad’s pension is from a Michigan organization and my Dad’s second family is all from Tennessee, so it’s easier for me to deal since I’m local. Since she was also divorced from my Dad, the pension bureau wouldn’t send the checks to her. Based on their divorce decree, she wasn’t entitled to any of his pension. I guess they didn’t realize she had been stealing getting them and cashing them the whole time my Dad was in a nursing home. She has been very upset, because she doesn’t know how she is going to get along now that her source of income is gone. I really felt sad for her.

There is a lot of history and unsaid stuff, but none of that history really matters to me (or my brother). We never received anything from my Dad after he left (I was 3 when Mom and Dad divorced). And I am certainly no worse for the wear. Actually, I believe my life only benefited from his absence.

Well, while I was making these phone calls I found out that several policies have been paid out to my Dad’s second ex-wife and my half-brother – one policy was approximately the same amount as the one my brother and I split with everyone else. No one bothered to mention it, they just happily took our checks and said nothing.

I feel like a big giant sucker. Really, it’s not about the money. As I said, I never received anything from the man and could have lived the rest of my life without receiving anything. For me it’s a principal thing. I just don’t understand how people can tell you that they love you but turn around and treat you like they really couldn’t give a shit about you. I think the part that pisses me off the most is that perhaps they thought we (my brother and I) would never have found out. I hate it when people think I’m stupid. And this brings to the surface a horrible trait of mine: getting the last word. I so want to call and cuss them all out!! But I know that will not really do anything to make the situation better, so I won’t. I can tell you, I have driven to Tennessee to visit relatives for the last time.

Grrrrrrr arrrrghhhh!

Shit, this was supposed to make me feel better.

6 Comments »

  1. nikki Said:

    I’m flipping them off for you. It doesn’t help at all, but hopefully it will make you chuckle.

  2. Stepherz Said:

    I know from experience that a person’s true colors show when someone passes away and there is money involved. People change into greedy nastiness. Well, obviously not all people (what you and your brother did says so, so much about your character). But I think if it were their natures to be vindictive and greedy, that would definitely be when they showed those tendencies the most. We went through a similar thing when Mom died. I’m soooo sorry this happened. They should be ashamed. I beleive though that things come back around, which only means goodness will come your way.

  3. Meghan Said:

    HOLYFUCKINGPISSSHIT!!

    That makes me so angry… what a bunch of greedy, thankless, money-grubbing whores. I’m sorry, Sheryl. Take heart in the fact that you are a dear, loving, fair and kind person… and Karma will smile on you for it.

  4. Yeah, really hard coming up with some kind of justification for them not mentioning the unshared payouts. Well, ‘greedy’ fits but that’s about the only one.

  5. Lolly Said:

    That was really, really sleazy of them. Really. You and your brother were being GOOD, DECENT PEOPLE and splitting the money you received with your father’s other children, for no reason except you felt it was the right thing to do. And they, in return, sleazes.

    But what goes around, comes around. They’ll get theirs.

  6. Joy T. Said:

    One can only hope some how, some where, some time, a great big meteor will drop from the heaven’s above…..and squish them like the bugs they really are. Good grief people just amaze me sometimes!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

