Is this a sign?

Look what I found on Yahoo today…

Ten Ways to Know It’s Time to Go

1. You start to dread Monday as soon as you leave work on Friday.
Well, not as soon as I leave on Friday, but certainly at some point over the weekend.

2. It becomes more and more difficult to get up for work each day, and tardiness becomes a way of life.
Tardiness IS my life.

3. You cannot muster enthusiasm for anything related to work — other than your paycheck.
Some things at work still enthuse me, especially when I get to use my brain and be challenged.

4. You spend most of your time complaining to colleagues or about your colleagues.
Is complaining to my husband and my job the same thing?

5. You act defensive and even hostile in company meetings when there’s little cause for it.
Nope.

6. You interact less and less with co-workers, shutting yourself away in your office and avoiding opportunities to socialize.
Pretty much… yea, but it’s more because I don’t feel like I fit in.

7. You’ve used up all your sick, personal, and vacation days — and the year isn’t even half over.
But I was on Maternity Leave…. (I don’t think I have to count this one)

8. You’re constantly putting off until tomorrow what you could (and should) do today. When you do actually commit to doing your work, you feel resentful.
I don’t feel resentful but when I only have 2 hours of work and 8 hours to do it, it’s kind of easy to put it off.

9. You’re bitter about the company’s success or that of a co-worker.
Nope, even if there were success’ to be bitter about – I wouldn’t be.

10. You have no professional goals related to your job, and you have a hard time even making some up at your obligatory performance review.
Is getting through the day a goal? … if so, I have goals!

You know, I feel like I complain about my job a lot. The truth is I am very grateful to have a gig! I am trying to stay optamistic about the Michigan economy and the timeframe that it will take to turn around. But the reality is if we didn’t just have a baby and own 3 houses here, I would so be looking to move out of the state. It’s tight here and the failing auto companies are effecting everything. And when I say every thing, I mean every thing. Bug’s daycare had to layoff a worker because they lost a couple of kids, whose parent’s got laid off from their jobs. I have several family members whose jobs are just so uncertain. My brother was told he would probably be laid off for over 20 weeks this year… 20 WEEKS!!! And he has 10 years at the auto company he works for.

Now I’m not one of those people who thinks Michigan’s economy should be laid on the shoulders of people who don’t buy American made cars. Shame on the automakers for not selling a product that people want to buy! But that’s a whole other topic and I’m not going to go into it now.

Perhaps it is time to step up my job hunting though. The last thing I want is for Hunter to grow up in a house where any job will do as long as it’s a paycheck. I want him to grow up seeing people who have pride in their work, enjoyment for their job and who receive appreciation for their contributions.

Holy crap am I all over the place or what?!

aaauuurrgggg!!

4 Comments »

  1. herb Said:

    Is it bad that I qualify on 8 out of 10?

    Yikes.

  2. All over the place? Maybe a little… but it’s working!
    🙂

  3. Stepherz Said:

    I know it must be hard to make it in Michigan. I’m so sad for the families who are suffering and the towns devastated by the economy there. It just seems like something could be done to help, but sometimes it takes time for healing.

    Did Ford move its factories to Juarez or Chihuahua? Part of the problems is that there are so many people like me who don’t even know what’s going on in their own country…

  4. Jenn Said:

    I so hear ya sister!

    Well, except that I don’t have a bug of my own. But I do want to set a good example for my, um, cat.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

