All over the place

I can tell it’s been a while since I posted. So this post is going to be like a bunch of little posts all in one big post.

Wow, thanks for all the great comments on my 12 of 12. It was fun. I need to find out what the “bonus picture” is all about. Several of the participants have added a bonus picture and it appears to have had a theme. If you haven’t had the chance, be sure you wonder over to Chad’s and check out some of the links. It’s pretty cool to see a day in the life of people from all over the world.

We went to Tennessee last week to spend some time with family after my father passed. I wasn’t that close to my dad, but you can read all about it here if you like. It was a nice trip. Hunter was a perfect traveler. 12 hours in the car on two different days and his sleep schedule didn’t get messed up, he didn’t cry, he didn’t become a grump-head, he was absolutely wonderful. I got to spend some quality time with my half-sister Kim. One night we stayed up till 2 am just talking and I guess you could say getting to know each other. It’s pretty amazing how two people who are related yet didn’t even grow up in the same state can be so similar… it’s almost creepy. I really hope we can stay in touch and continue to grow what we have started.

I’m really enjoying my camera and I think my pictures are improving as well as my Photoshop skills. I’m still torn about getting another lens… I still don’t know if I would do better with a lens with image stabilization or if I should just invest in a faster lens. The best of both worlds would be a faster lens WITH image stabilization… but since money doesn’t regularly come out of my butt… that’s not going to happen.

A bit of proof about my picture taking. Of course it helps to have a cute kid to photograph. Now this photo looks grainy, but that is because I was playing with my camera and didn’t realize I had left the ISO set to 1600- on the up side, the picture turned out nice and bright. Here is Hunter in Tennessee:
IMG_1202adj

This one is over a lookout, in Kentucky (think). Man it was getting cold and the clouds were just coming in. I thought it looked pretty cool.

IMG_1241

And finally, some berries. I have seen these in Michigan on trees and I love how red they look in the dead of winter. I really have to find out what they are and get some for the yard.IMG_1194adj

Well that’s all for show and tell.

Oh yea, one more thing. I thought about just saying fuck you to 2007 when I fell in the driveway on Friday while playing kick the ball with the dog. But I really thought that sounded so negative. Instead I decided to turn it into some friendly advice. So here’s my character building advice: Don’t kick the ball as hard as you can when the only leg you have to stand on is on a patch of ice… you will bruise your elbow, pull your tricep muscle and generally be annoyed. That is all.

2 Comments »

  1. Stepherz Said:

    Ouch, Sheryl! Owwwwwch. I think falling on ice would get my goat too. Last time I fell I slipped on gravel while roller skating. I just laid there and cried out loud. I was a total baby. But GOLLY it hurt!

    I agree, your photos are outstanding. But that youngster? Man, he’s a great model. What a cutie patootie!

  2. Meghan Said:

    Oh my… Hunter is growing up!

    Also, I love the berry picture.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

