Reflections or Resolutions

EDITED: because I have no idea what a Relfection or a resolsution is….

A new year – what does that mean? Is it just a date change? Is it an excuse to re-invent yourself. Get rid of the bad habits while excising new ones (pun intended). Why do most people make a list of resolutions at the beginning of the year? Seriously, does it help keep those resolutions or when you fail at keeping them does it just mean you don’t have to try again for another year?

I have a (mental) list of things I would like to do differently this year, but I have been reluctant to actually come out and say “I have resolutions”. I have spent a great deal of free brain time reflecting on how different my life is now than it was a year ago.

My immediate family has gone from 2 to 3. Now in addition to a loving husband I have an adorable son who is honestly a gift from God. He is a gift because he has the greatest little demeanor and he is always happy. A perfect fit into our family unit.

I am no longer apprehensive about what kind of Mom I will be; if I will be able to be patient enough; or if I won’t like the personality of the little person we created. Serious fears everyone has, no matter what they tell you.

I’m not wondering how long my job is going to last or what we will do with the loss of my income. I’m in a new job now. (I guess I know now, it lasted until April 30th – gotta love hindsight.) I’ve gone from a job that I love but causes me great stress to a job that I don’t love that causes me great boredom. The pay cut wasn’t nearly as painful as it could have been.

I started this crazy thing called “blogging” – who knew it would be come so addicting and wonderful. I have communicated with the most amazing people and it wouldn’t have been possible without the Internet and blogging. I have shared happiness, laughter, sorrows, tears and an emotional connection that can’t be explained with people I have never met in person.

Many things are the same. I still feel like I need to eat healthier and exercise more… oh hell, who am I kidding… I need to exercise – period. I want to learn something new (I always need to learn!!) I’d like a job where I can make a difference and be appreciated while earning a good wage. I’m still madly in love with the greatest man in the world.

Overall, I am excited about what 2007 will bring and how it will change me from where I am now.

3 Comments »

  1. Stepherz Said:

    Blogging is addictive, isn’t it?

    There’s a job out there for you. Just keep your eyes open.

    There’s nothing more awesome than having a healthy, loving home life. It makes all the rest worth it. It’s really all that matters.

  2. Bill Said:

    A new year seems a convenient way – or maybe just a good excuse – to keep track of Stuff What Happens. Look back, look forward… we do that all the time, usually without any conscious effort I think. The end of one year and start of another sort of calls attention to those past / present / future reflections. Not a bad thing, eh?

  3. Gina Said:

    Not exactly an auspicious start, you’re right.

    I hope your mom mends quickly.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

