It’s never too cold for ice cream

After dinner and some shopping, my hubby and I stopped at Coldstone Creamery. I know it’s freezing outside, but I wanted some ice cream. I went in and left hubby in the truck with the Bug. Once in the store I ordered hubby’s ice cream and she made it. Then I am right in the middle of ordering mine, I mean right in the middle… and the girl waiting on me breaks into song. Well for those of you that don’t know, if you tip the staff at Coldstone, they sing a parody song (for example, they use the tune of Addams Family but change the words to be appropriate for thanking you for the tip) in appreciation for your tip.

Ok, so mid-order they break into song. So I wait until she is done singing to finish what I was saying. She kinda rolled her eyes, but it one of those things they just have to do. When they finished singing, that lady that gave them the tip says: “I just wanted to hear you guys sing.”

WTF

I think that would totally piss me off if I worked there. Not only did you not tip them because of their service, but you TOLD them you only tipped them to hear them sing…

I guess some people just don’t think before they open their mouths.

5 Comments »

  1. Annika Said:

    I hate the singing so much that I won’t go there. Seriously — they found a way to make me not want to tip. What the hell? I’m the girl who tips 20% on take-out!

  2. Stepherz Said:

    Wow, I wish we had a Coldstone. That would be a fun trick to play on Jeremy. “Oh honey, don’t forget to tip!”

  3. APL Said:

    I hate that about Coldstone. I think the people who tip just to hear them sing can be mean. I’ve seen people stick in pennies repeatedly and then chuckle smugly as the poor workers sing. Asshats.

    Oh, and about eating ice cream in the cold weather: repeated surveys have shown that the region in the US that consumes the most ice cream is New England. Just a random thing I remember.

  4. herb Said:

    They do? I have been to Cold Stone many times, and I have never experienced this here in Chicago. I’m pretty sure I’ve tipped before too. Hmm. All the better. It’s awful enough to have to scoop ice cream. I did it one entire summer and hated life…

  5. Meghan Said:

    Can you imagine what a Starbucks would be like if they had the same policy there? *shudders*

    Also, I miss your daily updates.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

