R-E-S-P-E-C-T

…find out what it means to me

I am so glad that there weren’t cell phones when I worked the counter at a fast food restaurant – a long time ago.

This morning I was behind this chickie at Starbucks and she was on the phone. I, too was on the phone when I walked in the store, but I was finishing up my conversation with my hubby about something daycare related. I got off the phone, literally as I was walking into the establishment. The chickie in front of me never asked who she was talking to to hold on or anything. She just kept right on talking on the phone and never even spoke to the girl behind the counter except to tell her what she wanted. No “thank you”, no “have a nice day” … nothing.

Can you imagine the outrage chickie would have had if the shoe was on the other foot. What if she walked into Starbucks and the girl behind the counter was on the phone and kept talking through the whole course of the transaction. I can only imagine that chickie would have been mad, I know I would have been.

Out in the parking lot, I was standing on the curb waiting for a car to pull out and out came chickie… right out into the parking lot, never even pausing for the car that was trying to back out and she was still on her phone. I guess I just don’t appreciate the rudeness that some people exhibit on a daily basis.

But then I am the kind of person that speaks to people as I pass them by, whether I know them or not. If you were walking towards me on the sidewalk, on most occasions I would say “how ya doing?”. No… not in a Joey way… silly. I was just raised that way.

I think respect should be taught to each and every person. No, not in school, but at home. It should start at home. Over the past year, I have often said: as long as I can raise my son to be respectful of himself, other people and their things and animals, I will consider myself successful. Doesn’t it all really start with respect?

4 Comments »

  1. Bill Said:

    Imagine chickie or equivalent having a similar and extended phone conversation… in the presence of a friend; happens all the time. WHY this does not seem rude and wrong to chickie, I can’t understand.

    It definitely starts at home, and needs to be re-applied “wherever.” If one of our children pulls a chickie away from home, it won’t be ignored. Otherwise – shame on me.

    Can ya tell this is one of my hot buttons? Sorry…
    (and thanks for visiting)

  2. Stepherz Said:

    I think manners, kindness, and how to read are the most important 3 things to give a child. If they can read, they can learn anything they need to be smart and successful careerwise. But with manners and kindness they can succeed in life all the way around. They possess the tools to make impressions on people.

    I think that gal was extremely rude. It’s unfortunate because the gal who worked the counter deserved better than to be treated like she’s invisible. Shame on Chicky. I hope her Machiatto gave her stomach cramps. 🙂

  3. Jenn Said:

    I have a hard time not letting my inside voice come out on those occasions.

    Usually something like “dude, get off your freaken phone you’re being rude.”

    And then I get confused who just said that…

  4. Meghan Said:

    I have often said: as long as I can raise my son to be respectful of himself, other people and their things and animals, I will consider myself successful.

    I feel exactly the same way.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

