The only sigh language I know…

is flippig the bird. Well I know how to wave hello and goodbye, but the most popular sign language I use is the universal bird.

I have a friend whose nephew turned one yesterday. The infant knows sign language, albeit basic, but still sign language. I’ve seen a tape of him signing “more” when he wanted more chips.

A few clicks on the Internet and I found this site. I’m convinced; I want to teach Hunter some sign language. I think it’s a brilliant idea. I believe that a lot of not so nice behaviors (biting, hitting, etc) come out of frustration. Frustration from not being able to communicate. If I give Hunter the tools to have some basic communication skills with sign language, maybe he won’t get so frustrated and have a limited bout of “terrible-twos”.

I know my four readers are intellects, any thoughts??

2 Comments »

  1. noirbettie Said:

    The only sign I’m using with Sam so far is “milk,” but I’ll probably introduce more as they come up. I’m not doing any program (there are all sorts of books and DVDs you can buy! Specifically to teach your baby sign language! I have a sign dictionary that I’ve had for ten years), just individual signs when they make sense. Sam of course has not yet shown any interest in using the sign for milk, but he seems to know what it means when I do it. I think my friend Kulia uses sign language with her daughter who is almost two – she would be a good person to ask for stories and/or advice.

  2. Meghan Said:

    I already have Xan signed up for a class that starts in January. I made sure they taught actual American Sign Language (some classes use different signs).

    They say you can start using signs as early as 6 months, but that they really start being able to pick it up between 7 and 8 months. I think it’s awesome, and I agree with you about being them becoming less frustrated.

    I can’t wait to start the class! I’ll let you know how it goes.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

