My brother

No fancy name or catchy title for this post. It’s just about my brother. My brother and I are very close and I love him dearly. He stopped by today (he and I both had the day off today). We sat in the living room and chatted for 3 hours. No TV, no radio, no distractions, just me and him talking about everything.

When we get together, just the two of us, the level of conversation is intense. We talk about our childhood, our adult lives and everything in between. We contemplate how we got to where we are and where we may end up.

My brother is 6 years older than me. Our father left when we were young children and we were raised by a single mom. How she did it, I will never know.

One of the worst moments of my life what when I was 18 and my brother looked at me and told me he was disappointed in me (that was a long time ago). The best moments of my life were when we were standing in my new apartment and my brother looked at me and told me he was proud of me. And the day my brother walked me down the isle when I got married.

My brother and I have the greatest relationship. I wouldn’t trade him for anyone in the entire world, I love him very dearly and he is truly one of my best friends. I know many people don’t have this kind of relationship with their siblings but I couldn’t imagine it any other way.

IMG_0377
My son and my brother.

3 Comments »

  1. Annika Said:

    Is there anything better than seeing your son with the men you love?

  2. Aly Said:

    I have a brother who is 2 years younger than myself.. and even though we live in the same house, we’re miles apart.

    I hope we get to that stage at some point!

  3. Meghan Said:

    My brother is also 6 years older than me. I wish we were closer. We are just so different in so many ways.

    That’s awesome that you and your brother are so close. I love the picture of him with Hunter.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

