Election day observations…

I get the day off for Election Day. So I figured I would go vote mid-morning. That way, I’m not in the way of people who have to vote before they go to work. Plus the line shouldn’t be quite so long if I go, say around 10-ish.

Wrong.

My first clue should have been that there wasn’t any parking available. I vote at a local fire house and I guess it makes sense that they wouldn’t need a lot of parking. They all leave to perform their jobs. This is the same place I have been voting for years, so I am used to this and I just make my own parking place. (My God, I’ve turned into one of those people that irritate me!) But it’s voting day, so it’s different. Plus, I make sure I am not parked someplace that would impede on anyone’s right of way or ability to get out of a real parking place.

I go in and am a bit surprised the voting machines (all FOUR of them – wtf) are not set up in the area where they normally park the fire trucks. They are set up in the classroom area. I walk in and immediately wonder what ass set this up. It’s hard to tell where the line begins or ends. It looks like everyone is standing around watching a ping-pong tournament sans the players. The line is literally wrapped around a ping-pong table.

I get in line (I could tell where the end was because everyone was facing the other way – I’m smart like that). The election worker comes over, I am supposed to got to the ping-pong table first and fill out the “application”. Ok, so I do that… then I wait. I get to a table where they cross my name off a list, hand me back my “application” and hand me a ballot. And I wait…

And wait…

Man, it’s hot in here, I think to myself.

Waiting some more, every couple of minutes I move my wonderfully behaved son up 3 more inches.

Why are there only FOUR machines? It’s not like this is a primary… hello people??

…waiting…
…shuffling…
…waiting…

Ok, it’s really fucking hot in here! Now I take the blankets off the bug and have to carry them too… because it’s soo damn hot to leave my son covered in blankets in his car seat.

…waiting…
…shuffling…
…waiting…

Well I guess I could be reading the ballot to figure out how I’m going to vote, that might make the time go by… oh wait. I did that BEFORE I got here.

…waiting…
…shuffling…
…waiting…

Holy crap, these people are my neighbors… oh my.

…waiting…
…shuffling…
…waiting…

Then I see it…
…the sign that makes my whole insides bust out laughing. The Occupancy Capacity Sign. You know the one. The one that tells you how many people can be in a place at one time, as determined by the fire department.

“Maximum Capacity of 35 persons in the Classroom. By order of the Fire Department.”

You know I counted…

There were 37 people in that room… at the fire department… in a room that the fire department deemed there should only be 35. Now who’s going to enforce this law if the fire department can’t even abide by it?

Annnyway, it took me about an hour, standing, waiting, shuffling along in sweltering heat (you know how much heat 37 people can make in a room designed for only 35) just to exercise my right to vote.

And for the record, I’d do it again.

On the up side, the rain kept all those pesky “vote for my candidate” people away.

Either that or they couldn’t find a place to park.

Don’t forget to exercise your right to vote today, you might find something to blog about.

2 Comments »

  1. herb Said:

    Oh, I have such a story for you too, that I have to wait to blog about so I can upload pictures. I’m convinced that flying- and now VOTING- brings out the best AND worst in people.

  2. Aimee Said:

    Yeah for a 300! Love to hear about other’s that bowl. My boyfriend and I are on a league – only I SUCK. Good times.
    Cute blog!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

