What would you do with $60 million dollars?

I will be so glad when Election Day is over! The ads are really bothering me this year. No one… I mean NO ONE is putting any useful information in their aids… it’s all name calling and advertising about what is wrong with the other person(s) running. And what’s worse, as of October 19th the Governor’s race was projected to have spent a record $60 million… yes that’s $60 MILLION DOLLARS! To put that into perspective (if you can) a mere $38 million was spent on the 2002 Governor’s race.

This just boggles my mind.

Most of the money is going towards TV ads. The same useless ads I mentioned above. However there is one ad I have to say is rather clever and extremely scary. This is the “morphing” ad I promised a link to a week or so ago.

It is very well done and frankly it creeps me out.

Michigan’s unemployment rate in September was 7.1 % – that’s the second worst in the country (Mississippi’s is 7.2% and they had a fucking hurricane!!). The national rate for October was 4.4%.

Now I’m not going to bitch about the rates or complain about nothing being done. I am thankful to have a job. Michigan has been an automotive state and gas was over $3 a gallon this summer. I don’t like it and I am fearful for my family members who count on the auto industry for their survival, but I do understand how it’s happening. And I know something needs to be done, but I don’t know what.

With so many Michigan citizens unemployed how in the hell can people justify $60 million dollars in air time??? And it’s airtime being used to call people liars and sling mud back and forth. This is very sad to me.

3 Comments »

  1. Meghan Said:

    That is a great ad.

    That said, $60 million? So sad.

  2. Stepherz Said:

    Sheryl! That’s soooo creepy! I’m serious; I sometimes think that those people are a different alien race or something. Truthfully, I don’t even want to vote because both sides (Dem or Rep) scare the shit out of me. They are really all the same to me, they just have different names. Glad you shared the ad. It’s very interesting.

  3. Cindy Said:

    I am still one of the myriad “undecided” voters primarily (heh) because of those stupid ass ads. Basically it boils down to who seems to be the lesser of the two evils….not who seems to be the best. Frankly, I wouldn’t mind if both the SOBs lose. I need to go study up on those proposals. At least if I can wade through the legalese they use to write those puppies up, I can make an intelligent decision. I think there should be a proposal that proposals can only be written in plain English geared towards a 6th grade reading level (the average ability of the average American) so some slick special interest groups aren’t pulling the wool over the public’s eyes by using extraordinarily dense verbiage.

    Damn Ms. Smartchickie, you made me rant.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

