Big fucking tattle-tale

For some reason this year, I completely forgot to get my license tabs renewed on my birthday. So I ended up going the day before yesterday, that last day of the month. It’s usually a joke at the Secretary of State, especially at lunch time. Once I went and I had number 32… they were on number 89 – wtf! But they have been improving, I must say. Tuesday I was only 11 numbers away.

While I waited patiently for my turn, I noticed a young man walking towards the testing area with a written test in his hand. He and his buddy had been sitting in the back row (closest to the testing area). They were speaking Spanish to each other – normally not an important fact, but this gets better.

Well after a few minutes, of mulling over the test, I can here this kid speaking Spanish to his friend again… from the testing area. Hello? This is a test, not a group project. And come on, it’s a driver’s test, how hard can it be? Well apparently for this guy it was difficult. At least twice this kid picked up his test and pointed to a sign and said something in Spanish to his buddy. And his buddy responded – blatantly cheating.

Most of the clerks were busy with other customers so no one noticed. Since I’m experienced at being a big fucking tattle-tale (I am a little sister) I made sure I mentioned something to the woman that was waiting on me.

This woman didn’t have a stealthy bone in her

They made the kid’s friend move and I think they were going to make the guy re-take the test. After I was waited on, I wasn’t hanging around to see what happened – the kid’s buddy was a big guy.

I really thought about how to handle this while I was waiting my turn. Was it really any of my business? Should I point out that someone else was trying cheating the system? A not so complicated system at that. Then I thought of my son. Of course it was my business. What if I was the person on the other end of the sign this guy either couldn’t read or didn’t know the meaning of? What if this guy barreled through a yield or stop sign and hit my son? Or anyone’s child for that matter.

I think I did the right thing.

2 Comments »

  1. Meghan Said:

    It’s amazing how the “mom perspective” changes things, isn’t it?

  2. Gina Said:

    I would have done the same.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

